First Name: Saint Francis Xavier Hockey Team 1950
Sport: Hockey
Inductee Type: Team
Year Inducted: 1992

The 1950-51 season produced some of the best hockey ever seen at Saint Francis Xavier University, with a total of 50 games played. StFX was entered in the A.P.C. League (Antigonish, Pictou, Colchester League) and the Intercollegiate League, winning both.

The X-Men defeated Acadia and St. Thomas to win the Nova Scotia and Maritime Intercollegiate Championships. The StFX team defeated the Antigonish Bulldogs and the Stellarton Royals to win the A.P.C. Championship and the right to play Amherst for the Maritime Senior Championship. Next, the X-Men defeated the powerful Amherst Ramblers to win the Maritime Senior Championship, becoming the first university team to take the senior crown.

StFX then met Quebec champions, the Dolbeau Castors, in their quest for the Allan Cup. The X-Men lost the series 3 games to 1. After their successful season, there was much speculation that the team should represent Canada at the Olympic Games. Although StFX was seriously considered, another team was chosen. However, being considered for selection showed the high esteem that many held for this great hockey team.

Team members: Warren Allmand, B. Bartlett, Phil Bowes, Luigi Centa, F. Dempsey, Bill Dixon, Howie Gardiner, Andy Hogan (coach), Steve Hogan, George (Porgy) Kehoe (captain, 1952), B. Leonard, Duke MacDonald, Paul MacDonald, Joe (The Pro) MacEachern, Charlie MacLean, Jack MacLellan, Acky MacSween, John Markie, Hugh McMullin, Ed Murrin, Geno (Scat) Scattolon (captain, 1951), Phil Sharkey, Ed Swartzack, Eugene Swartzack, Bill Taylor, Ray Toomey, Mick Woodford.


• Won A.P.C. Championship
• Maritime Senior Champions
• Allan Cup Semifinalists
• Captured Nova Scotia Intercollegiate Crown
• Captured Maritime Intercollegiate Crown