First Name: Stellarton Monarchs Senior Softball
Sport: Softball
Inductee Type: Team
Year Inducted: 1989

The Stellarton Monarchs played in a time when softball enjoyed enormous fan appeal and its players were highly skilled. Only catchers and first basemen wore gloves, and pitchers could throw accurate offerings without the aid of the “whip” used today. The Monarchs won provincial honours in 1937, ’38, and ‘39. Only the Second World War could break up this versatile and talented team.

Stellarton won the Maritime title in 1937, defeating Moncton, which declined to play Stellarton the following year in the Maritime championship because their top star, Gordie Drillon, was unavailable.

A team from Boston, who won top New England honours, considered the Monarchs Maritime champs and challenged them to a best of three series. The series was played indoors in the old Mechanic Building. It was a huge warehouse like edifice with dimensions on the hardwood floor like those of a regular ball field. The Monarchs won the series in two straight games, 7-1 and 3-2. More amazing still, Stellarton won the series while yielding to Boston two obvious advantages. Boston pitchers threw the whip and all their players wore gloves. It was a team without parallel.

Not only did the Monarchs draw big crowds, but they also had a very supportive group of sponsors who even went so far as to personally drive the team to Boston. One member of this support group was the founder of the Sobeys grocery store chain, J.W. Sobey.

Team members: George (Toot) Boutilier, Ron Brennan, John (Twit) Clarke, Allison (Midge) Fleming, Chet Fleming, Cliff Frame, Laird (Boots) Frame (manager, 1937), Bucky Keith, Royce Kellock, Andrew (Bunker) MacKenzie, Clary Lowe, John MacGillivray, George MacKay(sponsor), Ned MacKinnon, William (Woodie) MacLean, Frank MacLeod, Dick MacQuarrie (sponsor), Clary Potts (captain, 1937; coach, 1938-39), Robie Potts, John William (J.W.) Sobey (sponsor), George Whytewood, Ernie Works.


• Maritime Senior Softball Champions: 1937, ’39
• Provincial Senior Softball Champions: 1937-39
• Eastern Seaboard Senior Softball Champions: 1938