First Name: Jones Curling Team
Last Name: 1999 - 2006
Sport: Curling
Inductee Type: Team
Year Inducted: 2011

The team of Colleen Jones, Nancy Delahunt, Mary Anne Arsenault, and Kim Kelly dominated the world of curling, winning five Canadian Championships (four in a row) and two World Championships over a six-year period. They also won a silver medal at the World Championships during this time. The most successful team in Nova Scotian history, they redefined excellence both nationally and internationally.

The Jones curling team set a Canadian record that could take a while to be beaten – five championships in six years and four in a row. Skip Colleen Jones, third Kim Kelly, second Mary-Anne Arsenault and lead Nancy Delahunt set a standard for excellence in women’s curling between 1999 and 2004 with Canadian titles in 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004, plus World titles in 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, and 2004, plus World titles in 2001 and 2004 and a World second in 2003. Alternates Laine Peters, Mary Sue Radford and coaches Peter Corkum and Ken Bagnell helped ensure success.

Colleen skipped the first 16 Nova Scotian champion teams at age 19 in 1978. Four years later, she became the youngest ever to win a Canadian curling championship. By 1999, the pieces of the dominant team were in pace. Nancy and Colleen had been friends for years and remain very close. Mary-Anne became the final piece of the puzzle in 1999 – Kelly was with the team from 1989.

Members of the team were: Mary Anne Arsenault, Ken Bagnell (coach, 2001-2005), Peter Corkum (coach, 1999-2001), Nancy Delahunt, Colleen Jones, Kim Kelly, Laine Peters (alternate, 1999-2003), Mary Sue Radford (alternate, 2004-2006).


• Five Canadian Women’s Curling Championships
• Two World Women’s Curling Championships
• One World Women’s Silver Championship
• Holding record Four Canadian Titles in Succession