First Name: New Waterford Central High School Basketball Team
Sport: Basketball
Inductee Type: Team
Year Inducted: 1980

The New Waterford Central High School basketball team of 1961 was the culmination of a long series of Central High championship teams, who had won six provincial titles in the preceding ten years. In 1957-58, they were runners-up for the Provincial Headmasters “B” Championships, before going on to win the crown in 1958-59 and 1959-60.

In 1961, the team decided to play in the juvenile category and entered national playdowns. They returned from Ottawa with the top honour: the Lord Byng of Vimy Trophy. The club was selected from a total enrolment of 125 at central High. Most members of the team played on the soccer team, which won the “B” Headmasters title that year.

Members of the team were: Al Cadden, Simon Chaisson, Harold Cook, Ralph Fisher, George Hughes, Don MacAulay, Bob (Red) MacDonald (coach), Dave MacDonald, Ron MacGibbon, Terry MacGibbon, Hector Roach.


• Winners of the 1961 Lord Byng Trophy